Students from colleges and high schools in Central Texas are invited to submit entries for the 39th annual Central Texas Art Competition and Exhibition.

The competition is sponsored by Altrusa International of Temple and the Temple South Rotary Club, and is coordinated by the Temple College Visual Arts Department. It is open to students from six area colleges and universities and 34 area high schools, with separate divisions for high school and college students.

Students from the following high schools and colleges may enter the competition: Academy, Aquilla, Bartlett, Belton, Bruceville-Eddy, Buckholts, Central Texas Christian School (Temple), Copperas Cove, Ellison (Killeen), Florence, Gatesville, Gateway College Prep (Georgetown), Georgetown, Granger, Harker Heights, Holland, Holy Trinity (Temple), Hutto, Jarrell, Killeen, Milano, McGregor, Moody, Rockdale, Rogers, Rosebud-Lott, Salado, Shoemaker (Killeen), Taylor, Temple, Thorndale, Thrall, Troy, C.H. Yoe (Cameron), University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, Central Texas College, Southwestern University, McLennan Community College, Temple College and Texas State Technical College-Williamson County.

Work accepted for the competition includes original paintings, photography, ceramics, sculpture, drawings, prints and jewelry. Entries must be dropped off in person at the gallery of the Temple College Visual Arts Complex, 2101 S. 5th St., in Temple, on either Thursday, Nov. 8, or Monday, Nov. 12, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. Identification cards that must be attached to each entry may be downloaded at

The competition will be juried by Mark Anderson, professor and chair of the Art Department at Baylor University. Six $125 Awards of Excellence and two $50 Honorable Mention Awards will be presented in each division, as well as a special Juror’s Award of $200.

The exhibition will open in the gallery of the Temple College Visual Arts Department on Saturday, Nov. 17, at 6 p.m. with an artist’s reception and presentation of awards. Entries may be picked up Monday, Dec. 3, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.