Achieving the dreamTemple College is recognized by Achieving the Dream as a Leader College

Achieving the Dream is a comprehensive non-governmental reform movement for student success. Together with a network of higher education institutions, coaches and advisors, state policy teams, investors and partners, Achieving the Dream helps more than four million community college students have a better economic opportunity and achieve their dreams.

Achieving the Dream believes that access to a high quality education in an inclusive environment is the right of all individuals and imperative for the continued advancement of a strong democracy and workforce. The growing network of community colleges across the country improves student success. Achieving the Dream is a catalyst for providing ways for colleges to strengthen and build their capacity to ensure that more students complete their college education and have more opportunity for economic success.

The goals of Achieving the Dream are to help more students earn degrees, complete certificates, or transfer to other institutions. Too many students leave community colleges without earning a certificate or degree, or without transferring to continue their studies. Consequently, they risk losing the opportunity to earn a livable wage. When students complete courses and earn credentials; however, they can improve their own lives, which ultimately benefits the nation.

Americans value opportunity. Community colleges provide it. They enroll almost half of all undergraduates in the country, providing the education that leads to greater economic opportunity and improved quality of life.

Temple College Intervention

Resources

Reports and Data

National Reports

Guided Pathways
Community College Survey of Student Engagement

State Reports

One Goal-Success for All Measures

Achieving the DREAM Documents

Local Reports

Student Success Summary

Leopard Dreams – Newsletter – pdf format

Goals & Initiatives

Student Success Council 2017-2018

Dr. Mark A. Smith
mark.a.smith@templejc.edu
Vice President, Educational Services

Dr. Susan Guzmán-Treviño
guzmantrevino@templejc.edu
Vice President, Academic Affairs

DJ Bailey
danya.bailey@templejc.edu
Advising Representative

Anjanette Mesecke
amm@templejc.edu
Student Success Coach

Ellen Davis
ellen.davis@templejc.edu
Marketing and Media Relations Representative

Kristen Griffith
kristen.griffith@templejc.edu
Dual Credit Director

Dr. Rebecca Richter
rebecca.richter@templejc.edu
IERP Representative

Jennifer Graham
jennifer.graham@templejc.edu
Temple College Foundation Representative

Division Directors

John Stevens
john.stevens@templejc.edu
Liberal Arts

Paul Foutz
paul.foutz@templejc.edu
Math, Science and Physical Education

Faculty Representatives

Stephen Phelps
stephen.phelps@templejc.edu
Criminal Justice

Sandra Melendez
sandra.melendez@templejc.edu
Computer-Aided Design

Brooke Robinson
brooke.robinson@templejc.edu
Associate Degree Nursing

Alicia Buck
alicia.buck@templejc.edu
Surgical Technology

Lesha Smith
lesha.smith@templejc.edu
Academic Foundations

Rick Pretzsch
rick.pretzsch@templejc.edu
Economics

Prudence York-Hammons
prudence.yorkhammons@templejc.edu
Mathematics

Jason Locklin
jason.locklin@templejc.edu
Biology

Professional Staff Representatives

Toni Cuellar
toni.cuellar@templejc.edu
Admissions and Records

Stephanie Perkins
stephanie.perkins@templejc.edu
Testing Center

Classified Staff Representatives

William Jones
william.jones@templejc.edu
Nursing

Donna Schoeneman
donna.schoeneman@templejc.edu
Advising

Achieving the Dream Contacts

Dr. Charlotte Biggerstaff
Achieving the Dream Consultant

Dr. Linda S. Hagedorn
Achieving the Dream Data Facilitator

Achieving the Dream Sponsors

Funded by:

Lumina Foundation for Education
KnowledgeWorks Foundation
Nellie Mae Education Foundation

Managed by:
MDC, Inc

Other national partners:
American Association of Community Colleges
Community College Leadership Program, the University of Texas-Austin
Community College Research Center, Teachers College, Columbia University
Jobs for the Future
MDRC
Public Agenda